Zoárd – Everything You Wanted To Know About His Name


Image

I promised to tell the story of our son’s name but I have other ideas for next week’s posts that I would like to start off with.

Monday I will do Shrink Me Monday but for Thursday(!) here is what I thought…

I would love to share the things I bought for Zoárd (since he was born). The list would contain everything that I would recommend. And it won’t be a “list”. It will be link to one of my Pinterest boards. So if anyone wants to participate in this here is my idea…

Create a Pinterest board of things you bought for your child (you can name it whatever fancies you) or you can also type in a list if you prefer that. 
The point is I would love to share Your recommendations. IF you are pregnant you can send me a list of everything you already bought. If you have older kids you can send me a list of things that you think other parents would find useful, cute etc.
Here is my email: webcamshrink@gmail.com

If you think my idea is good but there is a better way to do this please let me know!

Image

Back to Zoárd’s name. Here is a picture of him when he was 2 days old. I am showing you this so I can FOCUS on my post’s topic. HAHA

There are different rules that a country has when it comes to giving your child a name. Now in Hungary there are 2 important rules:
1. The name cannot be unisex.
2. The name has to be spelled “the Hungarian way”
For example, my name is Eszter; it couldn’t be spelled Esther.
And Zoárd has to be spelled with an á. (Zoárd was born in Spain but he is a Hungarian citizen.)

In 1982 a man called Janos Lado (with Hungarian spelling: Ladó János – our family name comes first) became the author of a book that contained all Hungarian first names. 
The book had a chapter of female names and a chapter of male names. After each name it said RECOMMENDED or APPROVED. If the name you wanted for your child was not listed in this book you had to get permission from the Academy that gave out the “approved” label to start out with. 

For example, my younger sister’s name: Danuta was not in the book of names. She had to be named something else and later my father was able to get the signature that made it possible for her to be Danuta as well.

In this book you were able to see the statistics of 1968. You would see a number next to every name that stated how many people in Hungary actually had that name. Zoárd had a 0. Zoárd was not “recommended” only “approved”.

Ten years after this book was published someone in my family bought it and gave it to me as a present. I was 13 years old at the time. The  book was fun because not only it told you how popular your name was (in 1968) but it also told you about your names origin, meaning and recommended pet names. Oh and it told you when to celebrate people with that certain name. This is called a Name Day.
For example, all Eszter-s are celebrated on the 24th of May.  My Facebook page will be full of Happy Name Day!-s on that day. Yes, you even get presents if that was the tradition in your family…

This book inspired me to start a novel. My main character was called Atalanta (picked out from the Book of Names -not recommended but approved).
Atalanta was 13 years old and “surprisingly” she had a lot in common with me. She hated cigarettes but she loved pastries. She liked to wear colorful clothes. She wanted a boyfriend but she did not want to rush in to anything.

The novel became really long. I was a determined 13 year old. HAHA This post is getting very long too… 

OK: so I had to end the novel. The last chapter showed the readers what happened to Atalanta.
Atalanta became a psychologist. /Did I just cough?!/
She had a 3 year old son. She was 25 years old. (When I was 13 I thought women normally gave birth at 22 years of age…)

Would you like to guess the name of Atalanta’s son? It starts with a Z… Ends with a D…. HAHA

Do you have a good story related to Your name or someone else’s name?

31 thoughts on “Zoárd – Everything You Wanted To Know About His Name

  1. Wow it is really interesting to hear about naming policies around the world. ‘Round here, pretty much anything goes (though there have been a few court name changes) and we have 30 days to settle on a name . I really like Zoárd, it seems to suit your son really well, plus it’s so cool that you chose it so long ago and stuck with it.

    For my son, seeing as we didn’t find out whether I was carrying a girl or a boy until I delivered, we had picked out two girl names and two boy names. We were rather picky because we wanted the name to be a simple name (as opposed to a combined name as is popular here, for example: Pierre-Alexandre). We wanted the name to be easily spellable and pronounceable in French and in English since we are exposed to both languages here and we didn’t want a name that finished with an ‘a’ because it would have become deformed in its pronunciation.

    The girl names were easy enough as they were both names that my partner and I had found when we were in our teens (we didn’t even know one another then!).
    As for the boy names…you see, the thing is that I teach. I was also a camp monitor for 5 years so I’ve seen my fair share of children and teens. A lot of times, when my partner came up with a name, it brought back memories of a specific child (or children) that were less than angelic. We eventually settled on Charles and Alexander and Charles won out when we saw our little guy.

  2. Sometimes I wish there were more rules about naming kids here in the US! We get some CRAZY made up names!
    My oldest was named Michael after his deceased grandfather – my husband’s father (my husband is Jewish and traditionally they name their children after a loved one that has passed away; not necessarily the same name, but usually with the same letter or something that sounds similar). His middle name is my mother’s maiden name, Brandt, which I wanted to be his first name, but there’s no arguing when it comes to naming after a parent so I settled for middle! 🙂 I wanted it in there somewhere because my mother is an only child and there was no other boys to carry on the name after 8 generations of Brandt men with the same name!

    My daughter’s name, Zoe, I picked out when I was about 13 or 14 so we have that in common! I heard it in a movie I saw and loved it! My husband’s family is big on Z names too so it worked out perfectly.

    Our youngest gave us a lot of trouble because my husband likes traditional (or what I call OLD MAN names) and I like some creativity but we finally decided at about 36 weeks that we both liked the name Troy – he liked it because it was normal and I liked it because you don’t hear it that often where we live – and that was that. I wish he had a better story for his name, but hey, 3rd child…haha!

    • It is still a good story! Troy who escaped having an old man’s name! 😛

      Thank you for telling me about the Jewish traditions. It was interesting to hear that you had a choice to keep the first letter or a similar sound of the relative’s name.

      You better take notes when your children will be telling you names that they like after they had their 13th birthday… haha

      • He’s beautiful. Can I ask if he have teeth yet? I can’t work out if Ayla’s are coming through yet or not. Also, I just sent u an email with my Pinterest board on it 🙂

      • Hi,
        Yes I received your email (thank you) and replied to it.

        I am unsure about this whole teething topic. Somewhere I read it is a myth, at the same time a lot of websites are talking about it as if the devil is on its way for a visit.

        So there were times when I thought: Zoárd is crying because he is teething, Zoárd is pooing so much because he is teething etc.

        He does not have teeth yet. He has several toys with a specific part for teething. He does not play with them in a special way. So I kind of forgot about the whole topic…

        A group of mothers in Barcelona told me that if you hang your child up-side-down you can see if the first two pair of teeth are coming or not. 😛

  3. omg I had no idea that there were naming policies. how cool that theres a happy name day occasion!!! its crazy how life turns out. you were just making things up on your little novel and boom it does happen in the future. great blog definitely subscribing :]

    xoxo

      • I read that there is a list of names you cannot give your baby in the States. For example: @ or Saddam Hussein. In the Philippines it is very complicated… I just read on wikipedia..
        You will be studying Science in Nursing, right? Such a beautiful profession! And useful now that you have Mimi.
        🙂

  4. They have the same naming policies here in Czech. And yes, they/we also celebrate name days. In my family, since my husband and I come from different nationalities, my son has 2 names: a Czech name and a Filipino name.

    There are no rules for naming children in the Philippines. I used to know a guy named “Vector Ion” because both his parents were physicists. 🙂

  5. How interesting! I had no idea countries had name policies. I think that’s really smart. Here there are some people (mostly celebrities, I would guess) who name their kids things like “Apple” and “Bear” and “Queen”. Seriously?!
    My husband and I have used one family name in each child’s name except our daughter, she is named after me and my husband’s mother. 🙂
    I would have been Joel David if I had been a boy. 😉

    • You got your mom to tell you what would have been your name if you were a mom?! Lucky you! My mom has three daughters and she keeps saying it is not easy to remember these things…

      • I have three sisters so my mom never got to use a boy’s name. I remember her telling me that she would have names me Joel had I been a boy. Turns out, her sister alsp likes the name Joel and so I have a cousin named that. 😉

  6. Just checked the name directory by Janos Lado, and found many interesting ones. We’ve been talking about names for our kids (way in the future), and as I do not have one for a baby boy I was curious to look at the list – haven’t found the one yet, though.

Leave a Reply

