Do You Like To Answer Questions?


I like to answer questions but I am too young for a bloggers award (I started blogging less than 2 months ago) and I haven’t been tagged yet. Both is understandable. HAHA

A Opinionated Man created a project that involves answering questions. He is a blogger that writes HarsH ReaLiTy. For some reason I am challenged with this linking business so let me make sure I got this right:
http://aopinionatedman.com/category/project-o/

Question 1: Please provide a window into who you are, some background information in a not too overwhelming profile here. I am allowing you as the writer to immediately connect with your audience so take advantage. Remember the point of ordering these questions is to arrange this project so it is easy for comparison and not to constrain you as the writer. Write as long as you need to for each question to get your point across just remember not to lose the reader.

The background information would be about how I grew up I suppose.
 I was born in Hungary during communism.
Imagine a room-and-a-half-apartment where the kitchen and bathroom had no heating. Six of us lived there.
My father signed a petition that was not to the government’s liking so he was not allowed to be hired to take a job for ten years.
My parents had people over to discuss matters that could have not been talked about openly. Some friends were put in to jail. Freely expressing yourself was not aloud at the time in Hungary.
My father got a scholarship in the United States to do research on a philosopher. We went after him after a year. We became illegal emigrants.
We returned to Hungary in 1989. End of communism. A few years after, my parents got divorced. I started repressing my childhood memories, at the same time my older sister started remembering every little detail of her childhood. She and my older brother became depressed and angry. That is how I see them though we do not talk anymore.
At age 15 or 16 my younger sister and I followed our mother back to the States.  After a year of struggling to find friends I flew back to Hungary by myself. I lived in a dorm and I asked people to take me in on weekends and during school holidays.
I studied psychology for 7 years. My first job with mentally disturbed teenagers was in England. By that time I already lived with my fiancé (who is now my husband). He was managing a cocktail bar.
We moved back to Hungary for a few years. I worked as a psychologist, my husband was a general manager in hotels. We moved to Thailand for 2 years when the opportunity came. After 10 IUI-s and 1 miscarriage we were expecting our beautiful son. My husband was admitted to start an MBA program in Spain. I gave birth in Barcelona. And a year later we are back in Thailand.

Question 2: If you haven’t already done so please provide your country of origin, whether you are male or female, an age would be nice, and where you currently live if that differs from the country of origin. If you are in America this might be a nice time to explain what state you are from. Also try to give us a brief view of your current neighborhood and what it is like in as specific terms as you like. Why is this important? I believe our surroundings and where we come from have a strong impact on our development of opinions. It would also be highly likely that depending on the safety of the country might also determine how willing one is to express their opinions aloud. Does sex also have something to do with this, as well as age? These are all characteristics that can definitely affect a person’s outlook.

I will be 34 in November. I live on Koh Samui which is very much different from Budapest. I can only express my views in a very modest and polite way since we live in a five star hotel. I cannot say anything that would offend the people working for my husband. I have to show a very cheerful side of me whenever I talk with guests. I am fine with this. Expressing your opinion can be over-rated. There are situations where you put on a show because that is how you can support your loved ones.

Question 3: Recount the first time you remember having a differing opinion from someone significantly older than you. Do you remember what the topic was about? Did you voice your opinion or hold it to yourself?

Since I come from a family where freedom of speech was very important I joined the debate team in high school and I always had a strong point of view. In university I told several teachers that they are here to teach us so listening to their stories about their own depression is a waste of time. This is not something I am proud of. I now look up to people who can control the big need to always share what is on your mind.

Question 4: What levels of respect were practiced around you when you were a child? Was there bowing involved, handshakes, “yes Sirs and yes Ma’ams,” or some other equivalent respectfulness in your culture’s tongue? Is an honorific given to someone older than you and do you often respect and practice that? How might the culture you were brought up in have affected the growth of your own opinions?

I have very little respect for my parents which they are sorry about now that they are older. This is what happens when your parenting is about big freedom, no rules, just do whatever rocks your boat. My father is a philosopher and he can write very clever books on the rights of children the only thing he is incapable of is listening to his own children. He does not know what the word caring means.

Question 6: If you could share an opinion on a single international incident or topic that you either feel strongly about or that might not be known to the rest of the world what would it be? You have our attention.

I do not follow the news of the world unless it is told to me by my husband. In those cases I enjoy discussing politics but generally speaking I do not enjoy watching or reading about the misery of the world. As I mentioned I worked as a psychologist. I heard many, many sad stories.

Question 7: What does the right to an opinion mean to you? Is it essential to freedom to have this right? How far would you go to protect that ability? The world is on fire with people of passion, how passionate are you about things you value?

I like a good debate but I always have to be careful. Knowing how to debate well does not mean you are right. Another thing that I do too often is point out to people how they are in denial about something. This does not help one make friends. Friendship to me is more important than being a person who ALWAYS has an opinion on everything…

Question 8: Is it ever right for you to be allowed an opinion while someone else is denied that same right on the same topic?

This question is hard to understand. I find it pretentious.

Question 9: The last question. upon completing this template and hopefully contemplating the issue what does this project mean to you? How can Project O potentially enlighten or help the world?

I like to hear about projects that someone does with big enthusiasm. I thought I could contribute by answering these questions. I like to answer questions. I cannot wait for my first “you are tagged experience” in the world of blogging. 

8 thoughts on “Do You Like To Answer Questions?

  1. I really enjoyed reading the answers to these more deeper questions (terrible English–“more deeper”, haha). I didn’t realize that you hadn’t been “tagged”–I would have tagged you. Blogging for two months or two years makes no difference. Being a genuine blogger is what counts (in my opinion), and you are that, for sure! Did you see how many LIKES you got on this post?! Just keep doing what you’re doing, and prepared to be “tagged”. 😀

  2. i have been blogging nearly a year and no awards. thats ok tho. a slow buildup was assured due to the (now semi-) anonymity I use for it (although it is not invisible to the government or the people i have told of it, it is not linked to my name in view of the general public)

Leave a Reply

