What Was Your Most Interesting Job Ever?


I love to tell stories while sharing pictures at the same time. It is a shame I do not have more pictures of me working.

One summer I worked at Moulin Rouge in Budapest. A friend of mine got me the job. We were working with 3-4 old ladies. Our job was to sew glitters or feathers on thongs and we had to make sure the costumes were a perfect fit for the performers. I can sew up a button (or feathers…) but that is about it. And I am slow. Really slow. While I finished decorating 1 thong the little old ladies finished 10.

We were getting very close to the opening of the show which was about Cleopatra. The assistant of the costume designer walked up to me and said: “The Roman soldiers need you.”
I remember how shy I became when approaching these fake tanned, buff men, who were all wearing thongs! They were thirsty. They asked me to get them some mineral water. 
End of my story. See?! You wish I would have pictures of this…

The good news is that I managed to find some pictures that show me at my work place.

If you are not the visual type to look at pictures. Here is my question straight away: what was Your most interesting job?

Image
This was me working as a psychologist with alcohol dependent people. Yeah go ahead…make a joke… HAHA

Image
Me working as a psychologist at a health institution before we moved to Thailand.

Image
My view from my window.

Image
In front of my room was a bench for the next patient to sit on while waiting for her/his appointment.

Image
When the evening came I worked at a Japanese karaoke club. I was a hostess with a bunch of other girls. We sang and giggled with Japanese business men as done traditionally in Japan. 
You kept your job if you were able to find someone who requested you to be his hostess regularly. You were payed triple by the hour if it was a specific request. I found a father figure for myself and when S-san was sent back to Japan I cried than quit. 

Image
This is what a typical night looked like. The note pads were used to request songs for karaoke singing. It was also how we communicated with the waiters. I never drank alcohol at the club. (I am the girl with the white sandals by the way…)

Image
But I did sing in Japanese!

Image
I joked around a lot. You see these men work like animals and they really just want their minds off of everything. Everything serious that is…

Image
So we did childish things.

Image
We celebrated birthdays.

Image
And we showed joy when we received a present from Japan.

Your turn! What was Your most interesting job?

41 thoughts on “What Was Your Most Interesting Job Ever?

  1. Hum, I haven’t had a lot of jobs in my life and they all brought some level of interest in my life. I suppose the one I like the best is the one that I have now: teaching resource to children and teens who have learning challenges. I’m not sure it’s the most interesting though. That would probably be when I was camp councilor to 6 year olds. I LOVED that age group because they were old enough to be autonomous for things such as going to the washroom, tying their laces but were young enough to inherently respect authority and believe every silly thing that I told them (like that I was able to talk to trees and I spok “rooster”) haha.

      • Haha, yes. My camp name was “Cocorico” which is the word we use to describe the sound the rooster makes when he sings. So I used to “talk” with the rooster when he decided to sing.

        As for teaching resource, I work one on one or with small groups of students to help them specifically with reading and writing. Mostly, I work with those who have dyslexia, but I also have students who have ADH/D, dyscalculia or who are just slow learners. It’s really challenging and fun.

      • Sorry! Easy to forget other countries systems are different. Primary, in the UK, is 4-11. Secondary 11-18. Though not all schools fit that pattern.

      • Yes, I agree, but the first year is all play-based, and both my children enjoyed it. Though I would have preferred the Scandinavian model where they stay with play-based learning until they’re about 6, I think.

        I thnk that’s better psychologically, particularly for boys, for children whose birthdays are late in the school year and children who are still learning basic English.

        I work with 5/6 yr olds who are struggling with learning to read and write, and most of them are boys, or young or with limited English (either from limited communication at home or English-second language)… The toughest challenges tick all three boxes. 🙂 They do learn to read and write though, and they enjoy having a teacher one to one. It’s not a perfect system, but I don’t think that exists.

        The English government is keen to push standards ever-higher, to emulate Asian countries with higher levels of literacy and numeracy, so our children are tested, tested, tested… Hey ho.

  2. I never worked in a Karaoke club, but I did teach English in Spain for two years. I hope some students picked up a a few vocab words! I did feel like a performer as I would go to various companies and give private lessons in huge conference rooms. For the hour I had to make them happy and keep them engaged. So I’d often mime and make funny sounds to get my point across.

    • Miming with funny faces?! HAHA
      I bet you were their favorite teacher. We lived in Barcelona for almost a year and I do not envy you… It must have been challenging to teach English…

  3. Hmm, maybe working as a waitress in Greece without knowing Greek in a restaurant that mainly had Greek guests? The “recruitment procedure” was pretty funny too: an international bunch of us camped on the nearby beach, so I visited the restaurant pretty often. Once I was just joking a bit with the other guests (no, we had no language in common which made it funnier) when they had some problems in the kitchen, and the manager told me I’d be good for the business. Or I think that is what he said… did I mention that hardly anyone in this area of Peloponnese spoke English?

  4. Those are really interesting! Thanks for writing about them. I think my most interesting job was right out of college when I worked for a lawn sprinkler company for nearly 11 years. I gave it my all and managed to learn just about every non-physical aspect of the business including sales. I left when my salary was too much for the family who owned the business to tolerate.. I’m lucky I ever got a job outside of construction after that though.

  5. My most interesting job is actually being a sales assistant in the UK. The shop is called Monsoon. I was new to UK and after a month of letting the new life sink in I went out there to apply for jobs, and I got this straight away. The most interesting part was getting new friends and being able to speak English the way that Englishmen do and breathing in a new culture! 🙂 The job started many new friendships, not only with co workers but also customers who invited me to different events! so that is why ^^

      • Haha yes but I think people find foreigners more interesting as well. That might be why they chose me. As well as my service skills and experience of course 😉 it was in Blackpool, I don’t really know how big that town is. Where i UK did u live and work?

      • I first lived in Feltham. We moved to Weybridge after a while. The cocktail bar my husband was working at was in Weybridge. I had a job in Woking and Walton-and- Themes. And I also worked in Feltham and another small town…I forgot its name. That job only lasted for a short time (Pizza Hut)…
        Did you like it in Blackpool?

      • Ah well then you have moved about quiiiiite a lot in your life! How exciting!! I actually loved it in Blackpool! I love the english people.. We also moved down to Lincoln from Blackpool but I never had the chance of getting a job, because a month later we found out I was pregnant and we moved back to Sweden, we only lived in UK for a year. But I miss it ^^ How did you like it in England?

      • It was actually me who suggested that we move back to Hungary. I wanted to start my training as a clinical psychologist and I picked the school that was in Budapest. Maybe it was because of the weather… and we lived in a very strange way saving up money like little hamsters. We ate pasta with tomato sauce for a year in order to save up as much money as possible….

      • It is great that you did! We’re a lot like you, we rather save up for something big and or rainy days than to spend it on stuff that are just temporary satisfaction. Did you save up for moving back to Hungary?

      • Yes though I was teaching English to adults as well because my husband is the general manager of a five star hotel. When the hotel opened I was teaching English to some of the housekeepers, some of the engineer, some of the waiters and waitresses, drivers etc.

  6. Hmm… I’ve worked in Administration for most of my adult life, but there was one time when I was between jobs that I worked at a dating agency. That was fun, and weird at the same time. :o)

Leave a Reply

