Singapore – Traveling With a Baby


I found out, a day ahead of my birthday, that not only we are heading to Singapore but that I will be given special permission to eat cakes and pastries through out this trip. Otherwise I am only granted this privilege on Sundays.

Image
Basically this said: I can be a pig again for a couple of days…

When we travel with our son I am always hoping to come back with pictures of me and Zoárd looking angelic.

Image
This is how I would ALWAYS want to be pictured…

Image
But usually…

Zoárd has been on a plane 11 times. He is 9 months old. My theory on traveling is this:
think of your motives and put aside the adventures that are risky for a baby… those adventures will wait for you if you put them on hold.
I believe that short, safe trips are perfectly fine with a baby if you try to stick to the routines that make your little one feel secure.

Image
Zoárd likes to play with the freshening towels on the plane. We also read to him a lot. Ten times the same book is the minimum. We try our best to make this part of the journey as much fun as possible. Walking with him can also be soothing. Breastfeeding is a must at taking offs and landings to prevent his ears from hurting.

Image
You really have to show a lot of empathy towards your baby. Understand that his needs come first. Your desire to go shopping or to see the architectural masterpieces are not as important as the need to have clean diapers on, to move around, to rest etc.

Image
I am starting to except that I need to bring winter and summer clothes for all of us. Usually the hotels are freezing cold.

Image
Taxis will have strong air conditioning inside.

Image
Some walking is also great in Singapore but often receptionists will advise you to take a taxi saying that your destination is FAR AWAY. For us a 15 minutes walk is absolutely alright even with a baby but the opinion of locals will differ.

These can be seen for example, if you go by foot:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Our focus was on visiting cafes. Fellow bloggers like Ena and Christy helped us with this.

In the evening I did not take pictures. We did visit two restaurants after Zoárd’s bed time. La Villa was very relaxing since Zoárd fell asleep after we did a few circles in the parking lot. At the other Italian restaurant we did not have a happy dinner. I even erased the name of the place. One of us had to stand outside of the restaurant rocking Zoárd who previously made it clear that he is not happy about dining out since he was not able to fall asleep.

Here are the cafes we went to:

Common Man Coffee Roaster 

I liked the atmosphere of it. Service was quick and cool. The carrot cake cupcake was delicious. The coffee tasted bitter but it could be that this is a type of roasting I personally do not find tasty. The place was packed.

Image
Zoárd did not mind sitting in his buggy, nevertheless this never means he is encouraging you to eat a three course meal.

Image
I had a latte and cake.

Image
I forgot what my husband had. Zoárd had milk that is for sure. HAHA

SPRMRKT

I had a quinoa salad at this cafe and we ordered french fries with truffle sauce. I became a vegetarian 17 years ago because I was making hamburgers and french fries. I really do not know what I was hoping to get when I ordered the french fries. I read about it, it seems fried eggs and truffles are also popular in Singapore but deep fried food is yucky for me. Sorry.

Otherwise we chilled out at this place. It was not too busy when we were there so Zoárd was able to come out of the buggy and do some serious stuff.

Image

Department of Caffeine

You can only pay with cash here. There is no ATM machine walking distance from the cafe. Believe me, we tried. I had a coffee latte here that was bitter and a pear cake that was too sweet. At least I took a cool picture…

Image
Department of Caffeine might have a cool name but it did not become are favorite place.

L’etoile Cafe

This place is hard to find but you are prepared for this if you have read ironladychef’s review on it. The confusing about the place is that it is a small cafe and though the review talks about a second floor, we only found the ground floor that was a little bit sad looking. Not to mention, that the cafe only has one single review on tripadvisor. A 2 point one. So I am not sure what happened here.

Image
The furniture was truly sad looking here but I tried my very first cookie ice cream. I am happy when there is something new I can try out since I am extremely picky.

Highlander Cafe 

We were looking for Strangers Reunion (another cafe) but it was closed. We ended up in Highlander because of this and I am extremely glad. They were super kind to us. They even creatively solved the problem of our desire to change Zoárd’s diaper.

Image
This guy showed my husband a technique he was curious about. They made a certain type of pressed coffee together. It was like a mini training. Simply because we asked them to and because they were kind and willing to do so.

Image
I had two latte-s here and this wasn’t my first dessert either. I did not like this apple pie but their carrot cake way yummy.

Brunetti

This place is listed among the child friendly places. It is in a mall that is full of baby shops. I was too full to try their dessert. My cannelloni had too many black pepper in it but I found that to be the case at La Villa as well with my other wise delicious pizza. So maybe it is a trend.

Image
You have to pay ahead at this place. It was full when we arrived but I spotted a family who was about to leave. We had to wait a lot for our food but we were relaxed about it.

Go where the locals eat…

Ready for chaos but the best duck of your life?!

Image

Image

Though duck is not the best for a vegetarian. I am sure that vegetarians and mothers alike can enjoy this place…

Image
I am mean. We did not eat at this place. I just took this shot because I found it funny how many times they wrote out their name.

I will end this post by showing you a few ways we made it possible for Zoárd to move around.

Image
Sport’s department.

Image
Golfers’ section.

Image
A hotel’s lobby.

Image
At the airport.

Of course moving was not always an issue…

Image

Image

Image

Did I almost forget the Swedish cafe we went to because of Ase?

Fíka

Let the pictures do the talking. This post is getting long as the dough of a strudel. HAHA

Image

Image

I am really ending this post now with a question:

Image
Take a wild guess: what kind of car does this gentleman have?

Image
This is not the correct answer. Though this gentleman wore a Rolex…

Image
The correct answer.

19 thoughts on “Singapore – Traveling With a Baby

    • Absolutely! If your baby is deep asleep, you do not have to wake her/him up but usually your alertness helps you react quickly if your baby is starting to feel uneasy because of the pressure inside the cabinet…

    • I did read beforehand, how the breastfeeding situation is in Singapore. It is not illegal to breastfeed in public but people are more shy about it in general than lets say in Spain…

Leave a Reply

