Does The First Have To Be Special?


You hear, you read that the first birthday of a child is really about the parents or The parent obsessing over the birthday theme, the decorations, invitations etc. Since, it was known from the start, that it will only be the three of us celebrating, I wished for something home-made and quiet. I am not saying the same rule will apply for next year but for Zoárd’s first birthday, we were modest.

I have very good feelings about it all. My husband asked his teacher, after giving a presentation to his class mates, if it would be alright if he would go home earlier because of his son’s birthday. So he got home at five which was such a nice treat. We picked up the balloons and as we agreed on it, we made a fruit plate for Zoárd, once we were back from our walk. 

In the morning I took a few shots of Zoárd because the natural lighting did wonders. We also did a few fun pictures last weekend. Overall, Pinterest inspired me a lot and I can only encourage everyone to have fun when it comes to celebrating. And if throwing a big themed party with cupcakes still falls in to the fun category for some, I am not against it at all! 

Image
On Pinterest, the birthday girl was holding the three letters. Good luck with that! 

Image
What did we get Zoárd? Nothing material really but I let him out on the terrace for the very first time and he was head over heels -happy.

Image
Our late afternoon walk was lovely. We came home with some friendly balloons. 

Image
Here is the “birthday cake”.

Image
And the after party…

Image
The picture on the left was taken at the hospital. And the picture on the right was taken while we were “praying”. Seriously, it is not easy to take a picture of a big baby, who prefers his independence nowadays. My camera’s lens cap did the trick. Wink, wink.

Image
Lights above the stove. Wink, wink.

Image
My baby!!! (Zoárd is 3 days old on the left. He was not petite…)

I just remembered, I did give a “real” present to Zoárd this morning.

Image
A pear.

How do you like to celebrate? Who did you throw the last birthday party to?

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “Does The First Have To Be Special?

  1. First, your son is so cute. Extremely cute. Second, my first child’s, first birthday was spent at chuck e cheese, with the birthday guests being all adults with 2 other infants..clearly, I had no idea what I was doing. Infants cannot play in climbing gyms up high, play video games and engage in follow the leader with other children…but they can eat cake and take pictures…and I think is reason enough a first birthday is for both parent and child 🙂 so have your cake parents and eat it too). P.s. your picture creativity was excellent.

    • Wow! That is original to try to make the most of chuck e cheese for babies. It sounds like you did it! You managed it well in the end. Yeah, one has to find the middle road I suppose. 🙂

  2. Happy 1st birthday sweet Zoard!! And happy birth-day to you mama! Such a special time, I love the pics with the letters and the before/after ones, so funny! We were modest for both of my kid’s 1st bdays but have done them up big since. In fact, planning my daughter’s 6th bday for next Sat with pony rides and bounce house. We’ve gone a bit crazy, but its too fun to see them happy and their life is certainly worth celebrating! xo

  3. We had a huge party for z for her first bday and I was so busy and stressed that I barely had any time with the birthday girl! It’s one of my regrets already in her short life so far (being a mom is so difficult emotionally sometimes).
    The pictures you took were (as always) beautiful. Happy first birthday Zoárd! 🙂

  4. SO cute! Looks like he had a great birthday! Two of mine have their birthdays within a couple of weeks of each other and it’s not too far off from now. Last year we celebrated by taking the kids to Disney World. I don’t know what the plan is this year. I hope they aren’t expecting another trip to Disney. I’m not ready to go back yet. 🙂
    xoxo

      • It’s “magical.” 😉 We just had the odds against us on that trip. It was the 1st time we had taken all 3 kids and we were on the tail end of a stomach flu. We had already paid so we went. It was the coldest day ever in Orlando. Seriously, it was very cold but it’s equally miserable (if not more) when it’s summer and incredibly hot. The crowds are always heavy and the lines are long but that’s just part of it. I don’t mind going maybe every 2 years, just not every year. 😉

      • I cannot see us going at all… but that does not mean that we won’t… I am just putting off the thought of standing in lines for hours (if you add it up). 😛

  5. Happy First Birthday to Zoárd !! It looks like such a nice and sweet celebration! Lovely pictures!! Pinterest does help so much right! Plus, love the photos taken a year apart but the same way! Lovely idea….! And letting hims out on the terrace made him so happy 🙂 We should seriously learn from the kids right!!

    Congratulations to both of you lovely parents!

    Love, Wink n Pout
    Blog , App

  6. Happy 1st birthday!! What a cutie! We used to throw big parties for the kids. Invite all there friends. Now we just try to do something together as a family.

Leave a Reply

