Did You Have a Phobia? Do You Have One Now?


Zuigerphobia is the beautiful name of someone who goes crazy around a vacuum cleaner. Zoárd started to hate the pure sight of it. I read that pets and small children do not have the coping skills to deal with their fear.

Just because I am a psychologist, it does not mean that I experiment on my son but this was the perfect time to try out a few things that came to my mind.

Zoárd was not interested in playing with the vacuum cleaner nor he was keen on looking at it while I held him in my arms. 

Every time I need to vacuum clean, I have to repeat the whole mini therapy with him. I thought by day three it will not be necessary but perhaps I am rushing it.

My mini therapy is:
I turn the vacuum cleaner on and Zoárd nurses while he hears the vacuum cleaners loud noise. He can even look at it from where I sit with him. He can stay in the nursing chair with me as long as he wants and once he calms down, I put him down to play with something interesting. Today he felt safe on our bed with his Cat in the Hat book.

Image
Next to our bed is his mattress but I imagine that sitting on the bed is somewhat special to him.

Image
Books and belts -what more do you need to feel good?!

Image
This picture was taken at another time. I thought only one “session” will be enough with him but I was wrong. He is lucky the shrink is at the house. HAHA

But seriously, do you have a phobia or someone you love?

 

 

27 thoughts on “Did You Have a Phobia? Do You Have One Now?

  1. Two of my children went through a stage of hating the vacuum cleaner but luckily it didn’t last too long. Now Clemmie loves to sit on it while I vacuum, she’s light so its not too bad. I am claustrophobic and hate going in lifts and on the underground. I will do it if I absolutely have to but I really do not enjoy it. Xxx

  2. I am scared of large bodies of water, like lakes and the ocean. Swimming pools, fine, but I get very anxious around anything much bigger.
    I am glad Zoard has his own personal shrink! That’s very convenient!

  3. All 3 of mine have hated the vacuum when they were smaller. Just now, the girls are starting to want me to chase them with it. 🙂 It will get easier, eventually…..

  4. Oh, and I don’t like lightning or big ocean waves. The lightning thing started when a friend in college was hit. Been afraid ever since.

  5. What cute pictures. Zoárd is growing so fast! I don’t really have any phobias, I do not like heights particularly, but it doesn’t cause me any problems. I just can’t skydive or bungee jump, and I can live with that. 🙂

  6. OK I never would have thought of first nursing while the vacuum is going, that’s a good idea. I normally leave the house so the maid can vacuum when he is not there! He hates it!

  7. My children were the complete opposite with the vacuum. Whenever I would turn it on they would immediately stop crying and stare at it in awe….but I have a Labrador who sheds continuously so I literally vacuum everyday. They have had a lot of exposure….lol

    I’m not sure if it’s a phobia, but I can NOT walk into a class/lecture late. I feel like every eye in the room is on me. It’s weird as I have no issue with public speaking/performing.

    By the way, LOVE your blog. I’ve been following it for a while. You have a lovely little family.

    • Oh thank you for following my blog and commenting on it! I appreciate it! I also agree with you, that you might have a bit of anxiety when it comes to being late but it is not a “phobia”. And it is great that you are OK with public speaking… 😉

  8. I had a friend whose baby would calm down to the sound of the vacuum cleaner 🙂 So she recorded the vacuum cleaner sound on her phone and play it anywhere to calm the baby down 🙂 Another friend would turn the hair dryer on when she changed the diaper on her son 🙂 Blackberry #2 has a new phobia of the hair dryer, he cries even when someone else is drying their hair. He hates it…Is there a word for that?
    Do you have a phobia?
    I kind of have one, I hate watching Blackberry #1 run real fast or climb onto high places, I get a ball in my stomach and see him falling 😦

Leave a Reply

