Stay at Home Toddler?!


We decided not to send Zoard to pre-school or kindergarten for now. I am a great supporter of reaching out for help when there is a need, but I also think that in our case, the “price to pay was too high”.

I did not want Zoard to catch a virus from other children and then pass it on to me.

I also felt that I had some unfinished business with him. Namely, establishing a routine he can count on in our new home and he had a hard time accepting that sometimes we do not wish to entertain him (I call it alone time).

IMG_20151126_132429

I spend a fair amount of time with Zoard. He enjoys playing parts of stories. I tell him a lot of stories and I am guessing, he might have more books than an average 2 year old… I highly enjoy picking out books for him. Today I will tell Zoard the story of Tchaikovsky’s  Nutcracker. I hope it will cause him as much pleasure as the story of Rudolf the reindeer. See picture above…

IMG_20151124_170237

As you know, Instagram plays a big part in our everyday lives. Zoard understands a lot about my account @zoardminiboy. He is enjoying being part of this hobby that is strongly connected with what I do in my alone time. I really like playing around with all the accessories and clothes Zoard receives and I became very selective on what we give our names to, so it is really a treat to collaborate with nice people who are behind the shops that sell beautiful children’s clothes.

Insta shop products seen specifically on these two captures are:

Beanie: LouisundLola
Hooded jumper: Mygaiaorganiccotton
Jacket: Little_indians
Sunglasses: Fjs_popshop

IMG_20151128_111421

IMG_20151126_132842


Getting back to what we do all day… I try to take Zoard out on a so-called adventure whenever I can. However, I do have to remind myself that I am now super close to giving birth so I have to hold myself back. Last week we went to IKEA to grab a few, not heavy items. We took a few public transportation to get there and it is among those things that I should not do anymore…

IMG_20151130_174031

Visiting friendly cafes, not beyond far from us, is a better idea (unless it requires taking a train like we did yesterday…)
Cafe: Nata Lisboa Barcelona

IMG_20151202_114209

Being spontaneous is essential when you wish to have a good time with your toddler. For example, I personally dislike toys that make a noise but I do not deny Zoard from sitting on them…

IMG_20151130_165815

And sometimes I just give hime a break. I let him learn how to cope with his own mood swings without making a big deal about it.

Now I am off to do some cooking with Zoard. He LOVES that as well.  After lunch, we will both hopefully take a nap without any “misunderstandings”. And I will have an exciting post up on Instagram after we wake up so see you there!!!

xoxo, Eszter @zoardminiboy

 

4 thoughts on “Stay at Home Toddler?!

Leave a Reply

