Hello from Thailand


It is not always easy to know which country we are in. Maybe that is part of who we are. Nomads.

Today I am writing from Thailand. We packed up are things a week ago and flew from Barcelona to Doha. In Doha we had to wait a lot for our take off and we landed in Bangkok super late so I literally ran with Zoard and Assya to the check-in. We were the last one but who can say no to a mother of two little ones.

I did not fly alone but when we followed the strategy of “be kind to us and look at these cute children…”,my husband had to take the elevator (we took the escalators) because we had so many luggage.

I wish I took a picture of me with the nursing pillow on my neck and Assya in the carrier while pulling Zoard’s Trunki. Oh well!

I think the key to flying with children, is to view yourself as someone, who is part of a comic movie.

When Zoard had a massive melt-down because of lack of sleep, I admit I changed my philosophy and became the most patient Saint on this planet. This helped me when he was scratching, kicking me (we were waiting for our boarding).

I need to share something horrible that made me silently cry throughout our journey.

I understand that some grandmothers were idiots.

I understand that being under educated is a huge problem.

But roughly shaking a crying child is NOT going to help. It can cause serious injuries!!!

Gently rocking.

Humming.

Walking.

Changing positions.

Taking big breaths.

These are techniques to follow.

Trying to make a crying baby drink, despite the fact that the baby is NOT  hungry/thirsty is WRONG.

STOP doing it when you see that your baby is gagging.
STOP when your baby is trying to turn his head away from the bottle. Or even your breasts.
STOP when your baby is still crying, no matter how many times you are trying to calm him with a bottle.

INSTEAD

Check his diaper. Change it even if it is “just” pee. Some babies are more sensitive than others.

Help your baby fall asleep. This can be done by patience on your part. Gentle rocking, singing, humming can help you. If the seatbelt sign is not on, start walking or squatting…

Being a parent can make you feel lonely and helpless, try to reach out for help.

You can connect with me on Instagram: @zoardminiboy.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment