Back From Bangkok


We left the island and our current home (a five star hotel my husband runs) to spend two nights in Bangkok. 

I love business trips that Zoárd and I can tag along. This particular one was superb! So many things happened to Zoárd for the very first time. It was exciting to witness it all!

My husband and I had to come up with a plan to change our diets after this trip ended. I will share some details on that as well.

We have been to Bangkok at least 15 times. Bangkok is huge, lively and you can see many interesting things. Sadly, the air pollution is so horrible it is wise to stay indoors. 

It is not a baby friendly city. My husband had to carry our strollers up stairs a dozens of times each day. We tried to use our baby carrier as an alternative but everything is only a success story for a while. At least with Zoárd.

Image
This was taken at a mall after Zoárd’s nap. He was satisfied with his situation at the time. We were trying to find an HTC case for my husband. People spend so much money on gadgets here. You would think: “who doesn’t?!” Fair enough but Thai-s do not earn as much as Westerners and they take a bank loan so it is not surprising to see staff with similarly good cell phones as my husband’s. Which is just something that I find interesting. 

Image
What I  noticed in Asia (Thailand, Japan, Singapore, Malaysia) is that you do not have to blush to have your picture taken with large stuffed animals. Which is good news for me!

Image
I was explaining to my husband that someone we know was complaining about small things in relation with a hotel room. And there was a period when I did the same. Reflecting on it I would say it is the syndrome of “being wealthy for five minutes already and you think nothing is good enough for you”. I am glad I can see this now and I started to appreciate again the hotels we stay in. 

Image
I placed the duvet on top of the carpet and Zoárd loved it. These two pictures really happened at the same time. I was sitting on the sofa looking at my boys reading. I felt great!

Image
Zoárd had a nice time in the hotel for sure!

Image
We took him for a swim which we never do at our hotel.

Image
My husband was very confident about our pool adventure and after a few minutes I stopped thinking about pigeons bathing in this city pool.

Image
Zoárd also had his first shower!

Image
And he sat up! So Baby Led Weaning is around the corner. 
http://www.babyledweaning.com/

Image
We were having lunch at Hyatt Erawan and a waitress asked us if we wanted a high chair for Zoárd. Our answer used to be no thank you, he cannot sit with self-control. This time we said yes so Zoárd sat in a chair for the very first time! It was awesome to watch him!

Image
We do not mind spending money on food but with clothes it is a different matter. Especially since I told myself I will not shop clothes for a good while. I am already passed a quarter of a year so I am taking it seriously! However, I could not resist trying on this beanie even if it was for men. I liked it but it was over a 100 dollars! Hm. No thank you!

Image
Mos Burger. It’s Japanese, it’s fast food. I became a vegetarian because of fast food! I used to flip burgers. But when you are at a shopping mall hungry as a beast sometimes you go for the easiest lunch option. A lettuce fish burger! I ate it without cheese, without onions, without mayo. Like I said: lettuce fish burger!

Image
After you see my other Japanese inspired lunch you will think I have an Angel and a Devil inside my head when it comes to picking out my meals. And you are right.

Image
I would love to explain to you what a pig I am (when the devil inside my head wins) but I want this story to be short. I can eat lots of desserts. And it is not cool anymore! This is a cheddar cheese and honey toast with ice cream.

Resolution: no more desserts in Thailand. My husband is joining me on this.  

Do you feel you have to be radical with some things in order to stop yourself from doing an act that you would be ashamed of later?

39 thoughts on “Back From Bangkok

  1. Loveeeee! You have a beautiful family! I know what you mean about having that nothing’s too good for me moment, haha I recently went to Vegas and had plently of those moments. Those burger actually sound really good, it’s almost lunch time mmm. Hungry. Wow you must be a super-hero I can’t even not shop for a whole week. I need to work on that. That beanie is really cute but I wouldn’t pay $100 for it either. Sounds like there was a lot of first for Zorad! Amazed.
    xo GS
    http://middayspritzer.wordpress.com/
    Fall Trends: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cyux5s2FXtk

    • The secret to my “not shopping for clothes for a while”-project is MOVING. We had to move from Thailand to Spain and from Spain to Thailand in the past year. I had friends coming from Hungary (my mother-in-law’s apartment is full of our stuff) bring me more of my clothes here and there. As we were packing (there is of course a limit of how heavy one’s suitcase can be) I felt ashamed of myself looking at the piles of clothes I have. I felt like I was consuming just for the habit of it.

      And the same goes for cosmetics: I have more of it than I actually need. The difference is with cosmetics I am not the one to blame. I get tons of cosmetics as a present. They are usually things I do not use or it is not really suitable for my skin. Here is my theory: there are those who also start feeling slightly bad because of their shopping habits and they start buying things for others thinking that is a good deed… 😉

      • Oh that is understandable! Very cool idea though, I’m sure it saves money. I’m the opposite, too many clothes not enough make up. I’ve been working on expanding that. I love buying for others even more than myself. I agree it’s a good feeling!

    • HAHA
      I am pretty picky when I come to food but this was something that had the “right ingredients” to try. I am glad to know that your husband can have a bit of nostalgia through my blog. It must be interesting for him to see how a farang sees Thailand…

  2. Sounds like you you had a lot of fun on this trip. It was also a great milestone for Zoard to be able to sit by himself.

    I wouldn’t pay $100 for a beanie either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

