10 Things I Was Uncertain About


There were questions that were on my mind a lot. In some sense, I became wiser and some of these topics are off my plate by now.
I can also say the opposite, there are still a few unanswered questions waiting for some wisdom…

1. “Will I always suffer from bloating?”

Image
No. Lactose-free milk helps tremendously. I am also not shy to be considered the pickiest person on Earth. I have my list of vegetables I do not put in my mouth. I just tell people I do not like the taste of them. Do I miss eating beans, onions, cabbages etc? Sometimes so it was a nice surprise to find out that red lentils are safe to eat!

2. “Will I ever find matching clothes for the whole family without paying a lot?”

Image
I found dhgate.com and we can all be cute pandas from now on. I should have known that the place that will have matching outfits for the whole family will be Asian. Hurray!

3. “Is it OK not to give any liquid to my baby besides breast milk?”

Image
Zoárd only had orange juice twice for fun and that is it. He is almost 13 months old and he hadn’t even had a sip of water. Breast feeding really works for us. 
If you are interested in a different post of mine about breast feeding, you can read it here.

4. “Is sleep training for us?”

Image
A few weeks ago, I was confident with Zoárd’s routine. He guided me so I knew, he takes his nap between 1 and 3 and that is about right if I wish to see him in bed by 8. He needs 5 hours of being active before falling asleep. He wakes up around half past 7. 
All I did was: I taught him that I change him in to his night clothes and he can be breast fed as long as he likes in our nursing chair. I also sing him one song and once he is done, I put him on his mattress. I lay next to him until he falls asleep. He cannot nurse himself to sleep but he can come close to me with his body. I prevent him from “playing” with my hair. From the 3rd or 4th night he gets the picture. The secret is I think the day time routine.

5. “Will my linea nigra vanish once and for all?”

Image
It is still there slightly. I obviously do not sun bathe to make it worst (like I would have time HAHA).
It looked like this 7 months after Zoárd was born. I am talking about the dark line you get during pregnancy, look here.

6. “Will Zoárd be able to socialize normally?”

Image
He is a tiny bit a loner but I think nobody can tell that he lived on a Thai island for 7 months. If you are curious about my knowledge on Thai babies, you can read everything here.

7. “Can my baby be around dogs?”

Image
We were invited to hang around at a fellow baby’s home and they had a pet. Nothing happened. Zoárd is safe and healthy. I had no idea before…

8. “Will my baby learn to eat properly if we stick the food in his mouth?”

Image
Zoárd does not suck on toys. We prefer not to put food in his hands because nothing goes in his mouth, he throws everything on the floor. We are currently at this stage.

9. “Cutting or not cutting your baby’s hair?”

Image
You are welcome to take a guess. HAHA
I know this is not a very serious problem of ours. When someone imagines how I spend my day with a baby, I guess at times, these are the light questions I think about while watching him. Here is a day of our lives back in Thailand. 

10. “Will we ever have a home?”

Image
Home is where your loved ones are and your underwears. 
First I lived in Hungary, then the US, Hungary again, US, Hungary, UK, Hungary, Thailand, Spain, then Thailand again, back to Spain.
You can read about our adventures as we lived in a hotel for a long, long, long time. Click here.

This turned out to be a pretty personal post. PPP. I hope you liked it! 
What questions are on your mind?

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “10 Things I Was Uncertain About

  1. The light questions are just as important! 🙂 and it sounds like you already have all the right answers. So, are in Spain semi-permanently? Is your husband no longer the manager at the Thai hotel?

    • Oh he still is, he is just doing his MBA here.
      Zoárd has a fever because he got his vaccines last week. Oh boy, I am really uncertain about this one. I am not sure for example, am I supposed to put a cold wet cloth on his forehead during night if he gets super hot?!

      • You’re opposed to medication for a high fever? I’d give him Tylenol if it got high. But, I suppose a cool rag. My husband said his parents rubbed rubbing alcohol on his forehead when he had fevers. Waiting it out is best if they don’t get too high.

      • I tried to give Paracetamol twice but he vomited both times. We had better luck today with it. And luckily, over the night, he seemed comfortable enough. We did the cool rag in the day time… Thank you Kerry!!

  2. Fever and rags: not too hot, not too cold. You want to draw the heat off gently, without closing up the blood vessels of the skin OR adding heat when you want to be taking it away.

    A luke-warm bath can work.

    A lot of uncertainties but I like the last one! And I love that you posted a picture of your belly. (And I am jealous about the sleep, but that’s another story. 🙂 )

  3. I absolutely love the underwear family picture. 🙂
    My linea negra went away fairly quickly (7 months or so) but the small stretch marks I have along the very bottom of my tummy are here to stay… Hooray haha!

Leave a comment